menu

About LABS...

LABS Building Services Ltd is a family run business based in Sheffield, South Yorkshire. We specialise in basement conversions, structural waterproofing, damp proofing, and timber treatments.

Google Reviews

google
Jeremy Evans
13 February 2023

We booked to use LABS for our cellar conversion on the back of a recommendation from a friend who had worked with them and seen their finished cellars in the past. We went for the fully habitable bedroom option with light-well, the floor being dug out for more headroom and new staircase that both need to comply with current regulations. The new room is a really useful space finished to an high standard and will be ideal as a guest bedroom / play and cinema room once a lick of paint has gone on the walls and carpet has gone down. LABS customers service is good, efficient, prompt and reliable. The building team is friendly and approachable. What could have been improved was the communication between the team as sometimes we felt in the unknown regarding the upcoming work and whether anyone would be turning up on the day. Our job overran, which is fine as we’re not naive enough to know that builders don’t have more than one job on the go at a time. We put this down to about 3 weeks from late November where we only had a day or day and half’s work a week for those 3 weeks without much in the way of communication as to what was happening. However before Christmas the work really picked up, stairs went in and it was all hands to the pump. Overall we would absolutely recommend LABS, Brendan and his team.

google
Tracey Wear
24 January 2023

L-A-B-S Used this company for my rising and penetrative damp they were excellent from assessment to carrying out all the work knocking off damaged plaster putting on an internal DPM and an external DPC plastering and replacing damaged wood work everyone was extremely professional cleaned up as they went along friendly and reliable. Communication was excellent with a dedicated what's app group for them to contact me and visa versa answered all my questions nothing was too much trouble thank you Brendan and his hard working team ...

google
naomi vaughan
13 December 2022

LABS was really responsive and gave me lots of reassurance. They explained what needed to be done really explicitly and I felt comfortable with the workers in the house and they got the job done well. I would definitely recommend them.

google
Ali Hoyes
10 October 2022

I had a damp problem half way up my house on an external wall..render in good condition. Walls above and below all good... several builders no explanation and no solution. Asked Labs for their opinion... they came and sorted it clad the inside wall. 10 year guarantee... 5 years in its as good as the day they worked on it... if only I could share photos?... Thanks Brendan and team.. Have recommended you several times

google
Ju Mitchell
16 September 2022

Our experience of using LABS for our basement conversion has, in the main, been a positive one. The quality of individual workmanship is very good and we feel we have received good value for money. We now have an additional room in our home that is impacting positively on family life and that has added value to our property. Something that doesn't seem to work as well as it could, is the communication and planning across the team. With so many different people involved, there has, at times, been a sense of no-one having a clear overview of tasks and timescales. It feels as if the project management, and communication to on-site operatives and us as the customer, hasn't always been as joined up as it could have been despite good intentions. Overall, we would recommend LABS. We are very happy with the finished result of our project.

google
Redmi Note10
2 September 2022

Got to say thank you to everyone at labs, especially Phil, Simon & Carl - they fully tanked my cellar, putting a pump system in there and helping with plastering and more, and I can't recommend them highly enough - great communication, fast & efficient work that is of a consistently high standard, and any and all problems were solved in a stress free and professional manner. They also really helped me when some unforeseen problems arose and I'll be forever grateful for that their advice. I am very happy and satisfied with all the work and my cellar is great!! Thank you!!

google
Mhairi Mason
15 August 2022

Excellent advice and support. Very helpful and personable service. Would recommend.

google
Thomas Parry
15 August 2022

LABs carry out a great service from start to finish. Really professional and would highly recommend to anyone! Keep up the good work

We have had damp proofing work in two of our properties. We have been happy with the standard of work on both occasions, but what really made the work run smoothly and completed to an exceptional standard, was the project management by Simon Vaughan. He goes above and beyond to ensure the customer is happy and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend any project managed by him.

google
Laura McClean
12 August 2022

L.A.B.S have been really helpful in sorting the problems in the cellar of our Victorian house. Simon has worked hard to find a solution where other tradespeople from elsewhere weren't happy to get involved. Everyone we have spoken to has been helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

google
Hutch
12 August 2022

Labs have been an absolute lifeline to us this past year. A sewer pipe burst next to our house, which subsequently contaminated the basement damproofing system that Labs installed as part of our original basement conversion. Within 10 minutes of me contacting him, Brendan (Labs boss) had video called me and then sent someone out to check out the problem. Many companies, upon realising the fault was nothing they had done and out of their hands, would've ended their involvement there, but not Labs. Instead, over the intervening 11 months of battles with insurance, surveyors and cowboy builders appointed by the insurance, Labs were with me every step of the way (led by the absolute example of excellence that is Simon). They were always there for phone calls, quick visits round, and advising me how to deal with the insurance. There was no reason for them to help me so much other than their absolutely unparalleled customer service ethics. It was only with their assistance that we have finally arrived at the point where the basement is finally being fixed (thankfully, the insurance finally agreed to just pay labs to fix it, which thanks to continued insurance incompetence now amounts to essentially starting the conversion all over again) and once again I cannot praise them enough. Super polite, punctual, get on with the work and always talking to me to keep me up to date with whats going on. Genuinley don't know what I would have done without Simons help the past year, could never have got this far without him and the rest of the Labs team. Hopefully, the next review I leave will be the final one after completion of the basement conversion for the second time in 4 years 😅 if you want quality customer service, excellent build quality and most importantly people who actually care about you and the work they do for you, then look no further than these guys.

google
Sam Evans
12 August 2022

We have engaged LABS on a number of projects. They have always been friendly, professional, knowledgeable and commercially astute. A highly competent, hardworking and trustworthy team.

google
Joanna Montague
11 August 2022

We hired LABS to treat the timber in our basement space and install a PIV unit. The work was crucial to the sale of our property so were in desperate need to get the job done quickly. They were prompt and professional and would hire them again, should we need any more work done in the future. Thank you!

google
Darius Lee
17 July 2022
google
Josie McCullen
12 July 2022

We had some work done recently by LABS and the team have been brilliant. Most recently, we suspected woodworm brought into the property by new reclaimed wooden furniture. LABS’ timber specialist came straight out at 7am the next morning to review the issue, offered us sound advice and even communicated to the furniture company on our behalf. Saved us a lots of sweat and worry!

google
James France
15 April 2022
google
James St
29 March 2022

All the team were wonderfully professional, knowledgeable and also caring. Thank you, we appreciate you!

google
Corinna Humphries
24 March 2022

LABS did a great job with the rendering at our offices and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them. The team were friendly and made sure the area was tidy and accessible.

google
Gareth J Bramley
21 March 2022

I was very impressed with the quality of work provided by LABS throughout the project. Overall, I thought the team worked very hard to fit in with my own builders on a tricky project, and they liaised well throughout with other contractors working alongside them. LABS staff are very helpful and friendly, and explain things in good detail. The quality of the work, and explanation of the relevant issues, was high throughout

google
Harry Jenkinson
14 March 2022

Used LABS for our basement conversion. End product was fantastic. Really good quality and brilliant communication from Simon V throughout. Big that you to the team who have worked on it. Everyone very friendly and answer questions when asked. Looking forward to using the space as play area for our child. Thank you to the LABS team!

google
David Oxley
23 February 2022

Simon and his team were fantastic. We experienced a really difficult cellar flooding situation in which water kept filling up until the ground saturation had subsided. LABS pumped out several times until we were able to have a pumping system installed. Everyone was professional and courteous and Simon coordinated the jobs perfectly along the way and was always reassuring about resolving the situation. He certainly went the extra mile. Would highly recommend LABS

google
Nigel Bird
18 February 2022

L-A-B-S gave us a first class, professional service from start to finish. The assessor turned up on time and provided rapid feedback. The date was booked and adhered to, the people turned up on the correct day and time and we were kept informed about each stage by phone and text. The people who carried out the various stages were both pleasant and professional, so overall, I thought that they provided an excellent service.

google
Mark Beaumont-Thomas
14 February 2022

Exceptional work on our house by LABS - Simon’s plasterwork is SO smooth, and Trent painstakingly replaced our tricky and unusual skirting board, matching it back into the existing skirting perfectly – great job!

google
Gabriel Kite
31 January 2022

We used LABS for a basement conversion. We found them very professional throughout. We were particularly impressed with the communication and were consistently kept up to date with developments and how the work would progress. Staff were all very friendly and the management were very responsive when issues were raised. Before work commenced, we set a deadline for completion and staff worked very hard to meet this deadline. Whilst I wouldn't describe them as cheap, the quality of the service was sufficient to justify the price paid. We would use them again.

google
Andrew Wright
27 January 2022

Very efficient team for our storage basement. Good communication and versatile even with our change of plans. Professional work.

google
Ann Baker
30 November 2021

LABS provided me with a dry cellar from what could best be described as a muddy cess pit. Work started on time. The lads were very professional, polite and good fun which when you're knee deep in mud has to be apauded. There was very little mess at all. The service is excellent and I am delighted with the end result. Pricing was very transparent and no hidden extras. Would highly recommend

google
Stephen Bradley
13 November 2021

Bradley plumbing are one of the professional contractors that work alongside labs-we have a great relationship and work well together-labs have a great team that enable their jobs to run well -providing customer service that’s second to non-highly recommend using them for all your basement and damp proof needs

google
Alan Gerrard
15 July 2021

We had LABS to waterproof our cellar floor which suffered from water flowing through and covering the floor every year. They built in a sump with a pump to deal with water build up and damproofed the floor. LABS were very professional, efficient and always personal and courteous. Good workers who knew what they were doing Andrew believed in the product and the company. Good service. Would highly recommend LABS.

google
Hello Kerf Works
25 June 2021

We are a local bespoke kitchen manufacturer and need a few components to tackle an install on a tanked wall in a rush. The people at L-A-B-S were very knowledageable and sorted me out with the bits we needed. Thanks guys.

google
Rachel Hobson
21 June 2021

We had the cellar converted into a storage plus room. After having a dark and dingy cellar that we put a trap door over to shut it away, we now have a wonderful useable space. The team at LABS were all amazing with a special shout out to Travis who is a credit to the company. We would highly recommend LABS to anyone.

google
Antonia Martin
21 May 2021

Really quick and efficient job, couldn’t fault them. I’ve no idea what I would’ve done without their help! 5 star, absolutely recommend

google
Claudia Blake
27 April 2021
google
Neil Deans
23 March 2021

LABS installed a Dampproofing course on a number of walls of the house. From the initial inspection through to the end of the work they were very professional and took great pains to explain each aspect of the work. All the team were friendly, open and very skilled in their particular fields. They did a first rate job and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to other people.

google
Elizabeth Marshall
19 March 2021

After being reccomded their service I initially had trouble getting a quote but the team soon got back to me and were really friendly and helpful.

google
Elizabeth Morrison
18 March 2021

After being reccomded their service I initially had trouble getting a quote but the team soon got back to me and were really friendly and helpful.

google
Helen Riley-Parkes
23 February 2021

Advice - I called for advice and comparative quote. They were great very helpful, honest and impartial. No pressure and gave me sound advice and made sure I made the right decision for me. I just wanted to leave feedback as their service was excellent professional, they didn’t need to go to so much effort but it was appreciated. Thanks again, if I reconsider I would definitely use this company.

google
Nathan Kerrod
18 February 2021
google
Clare Shepherd
5 January 2021

We've used LABS twice for damp-proofing. Their knowledge, expertise and professional workmanship has been excellent, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

google
Tracy Parsons
7 November 2020

Had a few issues. These were resolved by Brendan and Josh in a professional and conscientious manner. Good price. Would recommend to anybody with damp problems.👍

google
Kathryn Harrison
5 November 2020

LABS have been amazing each and everyone of the team, professional, knowledgeable and above all really lovely folk. My basement has been updated with new pumps and systems. Nothing was too much trouble and all the work was carried out to the highest standard. I would have no hesitation recommending them to anyone. Thanks LABS

google
Marion Thompson
1 November 2020

Brendan and his team rectified errors made by others at our request. This included mending underfloor heating and getting rid of awful smells fro the sumps. The team were knowledgeable, professional, responded quickly and very efficiently. I really don't know what we would have done without them. Many thanks for the help.

google
Ant Williams
11 October 2020

Very professional and did a fantastic job of the rear rendering. Would recommend for future works.

Fantastic service provided by LABS in such a tight deadline. LABS were very accommodating and understanding. Highly recommend!

google
samuel ashworth
1 October 2020

L.A.B.S provided an excellent service to resolve the problems with damp in my newly bought house. They came and inspected the house and offered a solution immediately. L.A.B.S supplied the relevant products needed which I then installed myself. Even after the products were bought from them they offered technical advice and support. Would highly recommend for any issues with damp!

google
Estelle Senior
16 September 2020

Very helpful visit and pragmatic advice from LABS. Highly recommended getting in touch with them for any damp issues/concerns.

google
Laura Wilson
31 August 2020

Really professional advice given on some damp problems in our cellar. Friendly and turned up on time , spent a lot of time explaining everything. Wont hesitate to use in future. Thank you

google
Liz Moor
21 June 2020

Brendan and his team converted my basement into a self contained apartment for my mum. The basement had been previously tanked and already had underfloor heating so it needed an expert team who understood the technical aspects. I had full confidence in Brendan from start to finish and he continues to provide support for the routine maintenance needed for a basement conversion (sump cleaning and filter changes on saniflos). I would highly recommend L.A.B.S. for any basement work - they really know what they are doing.

google
Martin Pursall
16 June 2020

Having had an ongoing damp problem for a good few months & with many attempts by myself to cure the problem failing I was recommended L.A.B.S damp proofing . After contacting the company Gavin came out to access our problem . After plenty of head scratching by both of us we took the floor up & Gavin found the problem. A pin hole leak in a copper pipe that was underneath another copper pipe ! The company gave me a quote for the work but as I'm a furloughed joiner I have plenty of time to do the work myself . I've tried paying for there services but to no avail . I think it is a testament to to the integrity of the company although it's not my way of doing things . I wouldn't hesitate to recommend LABS & I'm hoping to drop off a few quid for a Christmas drink if the pubs ever open back up !

google
The Pickerings
3 June 2020

Great company, we develop lots of properties and would highly recommend LABS for all damp proofing/ basement works.